Jokowi Announces 4 National Heroes

Achmad Zulfikar Fazli    •    09 November 2017 13:53 WIB
president joko widodo
Jokowi Announces 4 National Heroes
Sultan Mahmud Syah (Photo:doc), Jakarta: President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo has granted national hero status for TGKH Muhammad Zainuddin Abdul Madjid, Laksamana Malahayati, Sultan Mahmud Riayat Syah, dan Lafran Pane.

TGKH Muhammad Zainuddin Abdul Madjid was born in West Nusa Tenggara in 1898. He was the founder of Nahdlatul Wathan (NW), the predecessor of Nahdlatul Ulama (NU).

Meanwhile, Lafran Pane was born in North Sumatra in 1922. He was the founder of the Muslim Student Association (HMI), the influential student organization in the country.

Furthermore, Laksamana Malahayati was a navy admiral of the Aceh sultanate. He was the military leader against the Dutch navy.

Lastly, Sultan Mahmud Riayat Syah was a sultan of the Riau-Lingga Sultanate. He was the local leader against the West imperialism.

The awarding ceremony was held at State Palace on Thursday morning. The presidential ceremony was attended by Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal and Security affairs Wiranto, Minister of Home Affairs Tjahjo Kumolo and the Regional Representative council (DPD) Speaker Oesman Sapta Odang.